Goodbye and new beginnings (Week 49)

Slight alteration to the plan of this week. Pday wasn’t going to be until Wednesday but an emergency transfer means she had some time today! If you haven’t emailed her this week yet you still have time as she will have some free time on Wednesday to email to!

Dear everyone,

Today is a sad day in the history of my mission because just like my
first trainer and I got spilt up, Hermana Tang and I will be split up
today. Hermana Tang is being emergency transferred to Carabanchel, my
old area, to serve with the Chinese people. The assistants called this
morning and we are so sad, and so I have split preparation day this
week. I will have the rest of my preparation day on Wednesday.

We had a wonderful miracle this week. A member who had just arrived in
Spain called us and wanted to meet, and then she brought her non
member cousin! She has such a desire to share the gospel with everyone
around her, truly we were blessed this week. We made some other new
friends this week as well.

Mostly this has been a growing experience, we big developed deeper and
more personal testimonies of th Saviour as we began to recognise the
hand of the Lord in all aspects of the missionary work. He really puts
people in our path when we pray and plan effectively. I know that my
Saviour lives and that he died for me, he knows me and loves me and
helps me to be better daily. This week was Semana Santa and we were
celebrating easter here in Spain. We saw the processions that are
typical of the Catholic Church and the floats of the Virgin Mary. It
kind of made me feel a little sad. It made me think of this quote from
Gordon B Hinckley about why we don’t have crossed in the churches:

“I replied that the lives of our people must become the only
meaningful expression of our faith and, in fact, therefore, the symbol
of our worship. …
“… No sign, no work of art, no representation of form is adequate to
express the glory and the wonder of the Living Christ. He told us what
that symbol should be when he said, ‘If ye love me, keep my
commandments.’ (John 14:15.)
“As his followers, we cannot do a mean or shoddy or ungracious thing
without tarnishing his image. Nor can we do a good and gracious and
generous act without burnishing more brightly the symbol of him whose
name we have taken upon ourselves.
“And so our lives must become a meaningful expression, the symbol of
our declaration of our testimony of the Living Christ, the Eternal Son
of the Living God.
“It is that simple, my brethren and sisters, and that profound and
we’d better never forget it.”

We are the example of Christ, we must be examples of the believers in
word, conversation, thought and deed. We are so lucky to have the
gospel. Remember, Christ has asked us to be his hands. I pray that we
can be worthy and faithful and fulfill our callings to share the
gospel!

I’m grateful for this easter week to remember my Saviour and to be
with Hermana Tang. I hope you can all meet her for she is a miracle
worker. I feel blessed to have had her touch my life for these last 10
weeks! But she will live on and keep working miracles in carabanchel I
know! I l or you all!

Hermana Liddicott

image7.JPGimage6image5image4image3image2image1

Leave a Reply

