Louisa is a Linguist “Kebaptised” (Week 25)

Not a brilliant week for her and her companion who both ended up still sick! Being ill is just the worst. Still though they managed to get out and have some fun experiences “kebaptising” being amongst them.

Dear all,

I hope you all are well and doing good! This week I was still sick and I lost my voice which made things rather interesting… on Tuesday my companion got sick as well so we had to spend the day in our piso. Wednesday we took my companion to be Kebaptised because she had never had a kebab before! It’s a big tradition here in the Spain Madrid mission!

On Wednesday I got sick again but we still went out to work, my poor companion had to do like all of the teaching because I couldn’t speak. We met with one of my favourite investigator families and they fed us some some super nice food as well. But they gave me some medicine which turned out to be antibiotics so I had to finish taking the whole course if these antibiotics, in the end my voice came back so it’s not all bad..anyway we are going to the doctors today because we are still sick, my companion is sick sick, I’m more just flat out exhausted and congested. We’ll see what he says anyway. The elders were super cool and came and brought us soup yesterday which was super nice of them.

We started teaching a new investigator who really wants to be baptised, she’s from Honduras and she is so sweet! So we teach her a few times a week and all is going well with her.

We are teaching a wonderful new investigator from Mexico! There are not many Mexicans here in Spain. We met him street contacting and he is taking the lessons. In the first lesson he asked us what he needed to do to be baptised! We had a lot of people fail us this week and we were sick so it was a bit of a strange week yet we saw miracles all over it was amazing! Like we finally got to  meet with some of our less actives and we found some amazing people who contacted us on the metro!

We had our ward activity this week and it was ace. It was día de la hispanidad so there are lots of food and dances from all over South America and Spain! It was really something. We were not allowed to do a dance so we sang this song instead but it turned out kind of lame because both me and my Companion had lost our voices but she played the ukelele and it all turned out okay in the end. We found some new investigators through the activity which was so much fun!

Yesterday we were both super sick again and so we got sent back to our piso to rest and today we are going to the doctors. However it has been a really great week. We have had some amazing lessons with people who truly want to progress which is such a blessing. We are blessed with members who love and care for us as much as our investigators do. This is week 5 of the transfer now and I’m a little worried my time in Barrio 9 is coming to an end but it’s been some of the best five and a half months I’ve had in my whole entire life.

Something spiritual for you all, Sister Stephens said in the April 2015 conference,

“I don’t completely understand your challenges. But through my personal tests and trials–the ones that have brought me to my knees–I have become well acquainted with the One who does understand, He who was “acquainted with grief,” who experienced all and understands all.”

Christ understands, he understands what it is like to serve a mission and get sick. He understands what it’s like to lose your job, your dog, your left index finger and everything. He has felt all the pain you have ever felt and is always there to pick you up. I testify that you have a loving saviour and he knows YOU perfectly. He cares for you and wants to be there with you every step of the way. This is part of what the saviour means to me.

What does he mean to you? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Take care and live close to the Saviour,

Love
Hermana Liddicott

Not sure taking antibiotics from someone was a particularly great idea but it seemed to work so I suppose it was useful. Hopefully they’ll get to the doctors and get sorted and feel much better soon!

Pictures below! Don’t forget to email her and let her know what you have been up to!

Until next week!

unnamed4unnamed3unnamed1unnamedimage3-4image2-5

Leave a Reply

