Sacrificing our Divine Heritage for Lentils (Week 14)

So firstly apologies for last week’s really late blog post and even later email. I had sent the email out but had mailed it accidentally to my sister instead of the group email haha so that’s why it was behind, but we are on track this week!

14 weeks or three and a half months! Time is speeding by! She seems to have had another good week and has lots to say about it!

Hey everyone!

This week has been fuego! We have 5 new investigators! One of our new
investigators is from Romania and so it’s kind of difficult to teach
him because he doesn’t speak Spanish very much, but he is so
interested in the gospel. We met him street contacting when he rescued
us from a seedy guy who’d grabbed hold of me and was trying to get us
to go with him somewhere, and then boom our Romanian friend rescued
us, we invited him to church and now we’re teaching him! And he’s
getting BAPTISED! He has set a date for baptism with us for 10th of
September! And we only started teaching him this week! The Lord really
does help us find prepared people when we are acting in faith! But
he’s Romanian and so he reads from his Romanian Book of Mormon and we
read in the Spanish and so we think he gets everything but we are
going to start skyping the Romanian missionaries so they can help us
teach him!

By the way fuego means fire. It’s something her and Soeur McKenna used to say all the time if something was amazing it would be “pure fire” haha. I’m glad Louisa got rescued from the seedy guy and even gladder the guy turned out to be interested in their message it worked out really well for them. A little bit of a challenge with the language barrier but they have a way to work with it which is good.

My friend wrote to me a little while back about being bold. And really
that’s all the lord requires of us and so I decided to try it and
start inviting people in the street to activities and to to church
which is how we found another of our new investigators! We had an
activity on at church that night so I invited him to come to that, he
couldn’t make it but said he’d take the lessons with us instead which
is sweet!
We found a family as well! They are the most wonderful people ever, I
street contacted them one night and they invited us to come to their
home and share our message. Then this week when we went we found out
her husband had never ever let religious people or missionaries into
their home before! We were the first in their entire lives! But they
had wanted to listen because we seemed so happy! This truly is the
lords gospel and it brings total happiness in this life, and others
can see it through your example every day!

They seem to be having lots of success at the moment with finding new people to teach about the gospel. It’s especially cool about the family who had never had any kind of missionaries into their home before!

This week we had zone capacitación, I don’t really know what it is in
English? Zone training I guess..? Either way it was great! They used a
clip from a film called We are Giants I think, it’s about American
football anyway. One of the players has to carry on his back a 160lb
man whilst crawling blindfolded across the football pitch to get to
the other side. The coach the whole time is shouting him on, repeating
the same messages of encouragement, and really it’s the same with the
gospel! Each of us needs to blindfold ourselves to the distractions of
the world so that we can listen more fully to these voices if the
trainers in our lives. My trainers are my family, the Lord, each and
everyone one of you reading this email, my friends, my companions, my
district, everyone. In reality, anyone who encourages us in this life
can represent the encouraging voice of the trainer but today I want to
thank each one of you for the voice of encouragement you are for me
whilst I’m serving this mission.

This week the elders needed to give us our pedidos, that’s like
resources we needed, and so instead of walking down the stairs they
decided to put them in their paper bun and lower them out of their
window on the 3rd floor, which was interesting. Pictures attached.
Also one of our investigators called us serpents and told us we were
like the Pharisees because we just talk of Christ and we haven’t
sacrificed our lives for him like the apostles did…

The last bit was interesting, that they got called serpents. If serving a mission isn’t a sacrifice than I really don’t know what is. She’s giving up family and regular life for 18 months to serve the Lord.  There isn’t much call for dying for your religion in the Western world these days…

Sadly I read in the bible this week that it’s a sin to love sleep!
Proverbs 20:13 “13 Love not sleep, lest thou come to poverty; open
thine eyes, and thou shalt be satisfied with bread.” Sad times right?
Bread over sleep? 😭😭😭

I laughed at this bit because Louisa LOVES her sleep. Even when she wasn’t sleeping if you couldn’t find her she would be sat in her bed! She also loves bread though so I don’t think it’ll work out too badly for her.

Transfers are this Saturday and I really hope I’m not leaving! But
it’s cool, the members have said they’ll hide me and feed me Peruvian
food for the rest of my mission if they try to transfer me so that I
can stay serving in B9! 😎The people here really have become my
family! ☺️

I feel like she might get transferred, though I know she’d really like to stay – she might not feel too bad though if she gets to go to the Canary Islands!

Something spiritual
This week I have been pondering on Genesis 25 which is the story of
Esau selling his birthright for a bowl of lentils.

29 ¶And Jacob sod pottage: and Esau came from the field, and he was faint:
30 And Esau said to Jacob, Feed me, I pray thee, with that same red
pottage; for I am faint: therefore was his name called Edom.
31 And Jacob said, Sell me this day thy birthright.
32 And Esau said, Behold, I am at the point to die: and what profit
shall this birthright do to me?
33 And Jacob said, Swear to me this day; and he sware unto him: and he
sold his birthright unto Jacob.

I’d risk it for a biscuit on occasion, but would you sell your divine
heritage for a bowl of lentils? Maria, not being a fan of lentils,
definitely wouldn’t 😉 But today I want to share what I’ve been
reading about spiritual pottage, which in this world represents the
temporal and immediate gratification.
We are all sons and daughters of The Most High God. We have the
potential to become Gods and Goddesses, Kings and Queens, Priests and
Priestesses, heirs to all that the Father hath and yet what are we
doing on a day to day basis to fulfill this divine potential? Are we
striving to develop patterns of study and prayer that will invite the
Holy Ghost and ensuing revelation into our lives? Do we ask “what lack
I yet?” And then work on it? Are we striving to more fully live our
covenants so that we can prepare for the eternities?

Or are we trading our divine potential for spiritual pottage. That is
to say are we sacrificing our divine rights in order to receive
immediate satisfaction in this world? When we sin or choose not to
choose the right, or choose not to actively seek to progress in this
life, we find ourselves moving further and further away from our
Heavenly Father and we stop fulfilling our divine potential. We wind
up selling our rich spiritual heritage for things like worldly gain,
popularity, partying and things that provide immediate but not lasting
happiness.

The psalmist said
6 I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most
High. (Psalms 82)

This has been a great thought on my mind recently. The balance of happiness now and for eternity. Often the two coincide but often they don’t, it’s a delicate balance. Often we feel it is easier and more painless to have what we want now even knowing that if we waited we would be given more. It’s all about perspective and patience.

 

Live it! Believe it! And don’t sell yourself short! I testify that
each and everyone one of you is a beloved and known child of God. He
loves you more than you know and is excited for the day that you can
return to him having learnt from your life here on earth so that you
can live together forever.

God is anxious to be with His eternal family too. Even when it seems
hard, even when you can’t see the blessings of choosing the right,
even if it’s easier to follow the world we need to choose to live up
to our divine birthright. Don’t trade it for spiritual pottage, you
can do it! Siempre Es vale la pena! (2 Nephi 31:20 tells you the
blessings!)

I liked when she put “God is anxious to be with His eternal family too”. So often we see it as our journey back to Him, with us doing the work and He has no particualr interest but is just sat there waiting and checking us all off as we die. It’s nice to consider that He is excited for us to return to Him and waits anxiously for us to be reunited. He is after all our Father and we have been away for a long time, no doubt He wants us home and close with Him.

I love you guys, please keep being so awesome!

Have a great week guys!
Stay cool!
Hermana Liddicott 🇪🇸🇬🇧

A nice email! Long, detailed and she is happy!

More from her next week where we will find out if she has been transferred or not!

Adios! M.

unnamed (17)
Lowering the perdidos to her companion
unnamed (16)
Louisa and her companion
unnamed (15)
Zone Capacitacion
Leave a Reply

